I hear stories…

20170310_chickens

My neighbors chickens came over to visit.  March 10, 2017

I hear stories about an ever expanding population
and the fear that there will not be enough food to feed them.

I hear stories of the wonder, the saving grace of GMO crops
and how we will not be able to feed the masses without them.

I live in an area surrounded by dairy and chicken farms; fields of GMO corn, canola, and soybeans.
yet I see hunger in my community.

In a land of plenty.  In a land that lays claim to feeding the world
people go hungry every day.

You see the problem isn’t that there isn’t enough food,
but rather that it’s not accessible to those in need.

And the stories I hear… the stories being passed along are not about feeding the world
but rather stories of corporate greed, market share, and how to profit from the hunger… the desperation of others.

Corporations are making record profits
yet I see farmers who are struggling  and afraid of losing their farms.

In a land of plenty I see people without enough to eat.

And I hear stories of hunger.

 

 

11 thoughts on “I hear stories…

  1. I think one is left with the conclusion that completely unrestrained market forces do not serve the people, only the wealthy. Unfortunately this economic model has spread worldwide. Controlled markets aren’t the answer either. We’ve seen that too.

    Very cute chickens. Multiple roosters?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Um. I hadn’t thought about it that way. I was leaning more towards the concept that we need to solve the problem of hunger in our own community before we think we have the answer to hunger in other countries and around the world. To think about what we are being told and to realize there may be other motives.
      With regard to roosters I don’t know. 😕 But there’s nothing quite like a 4 year old coming over to get his chickens and bring them home. 🙂

      Like

      • I laughed about the 4 year-old! Great that kids get that experience. I agree with you about first dealing with hunger at home. I don’t think this is a question of charity (and I’m sure you didn’t mean that.). Charity doesn’t confer dignity. It doesn’t foster self-respect. It fosters dependence and to the receiver is necessary but demeaning and therefore soul-destroying. That doesn’t mean there isn’t a place for it, but it’s no real answer to society’s problems. I also think that the market model foisted on 3rd world countries by institutions like the World Bank, has worsened conditions for many people and has paid no respect to local values. The problem is 1st world countries assume they have a superior way of living. They may be wealthier, but in terms of cultural and family values they are greatly impoverished. They assume that their way of living is the best way for all, instead of being tolerant of diversity in ways of living and in political systems. But there you go. Humans have a long way to go and a long way to grow.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Your lovely, healthy gardens are such a powerful example for others, Maria, a clear testament that it’s possible for communities to feed all of their citizens if people are willing to learn and work together. And your work to rebuild the soil is an inspiring, concrete kind of resistance that honors life.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is beautifully sad poem, Maria. (I know this is an oxymoron) But it’s like the world – the hunger and inequity amid plenty. Such amazing expression of truth. Can I ask, would it be Ok to re-blog this? I rarley do, but I like to dovetail my posts together, and this poem would fit well. I wouldn’t do it immediately – and I’m not a regimented person, (for better or worse). But I would like to share with others “I hear Stories”. Thanks for your consideration. – Bruce

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

