My time.

20160423_162714

Newly transplanted European Cucumber. April 23, 2016

On more than one occasion I’ve had people tell me : ” Oh, it must be so nice to be able to spend all day working in your yard.”   I tell them yes it’s a joy, something I look forward to and treasure.  No need to tell them I spend 40+ hours each week in an office.

20160423_162953

Newly Planted Bell Peppers. April 23, 2016

While I may be stiff, dirty, and bone tired when I come in, it’s not a job. It’s not a full time endeavor.  I work at my own pace and stop when I desire.

20160411_183534

Hardening off the tomato’s. April 11, 2016

I get to set the pace and that means you are just as likely to find me filling a 5 gallon bucket with weeds as you are to see me sitting on. This is my time and I stop often to enjoy the view, to listen to the birds, or to just be.

20160424_131058

Unknown perennial. April 24, 2016

It will never be a job nor do I want it to be.  I want this to remain my time; to always be something I look forward too; to be something I treasure.  To be something that nourishes my body as much as my soul.

20160424_130059

Strawberries. April 24, 2016

As I’m told: It must be nice to be able to spend the day working in the garden.  I find myself smiling.  I think my eyes might even sparkle a little as I say oh yes; a very nice way to spend the day.

“The single greatest lesson the garden teaches is that our relationship to the planet need not be zero-sum, and that as long as the sun still shines and people still can plan and plant, think and do, we can, if we bother to try, find ways to provide for ourselves without diminishing the world. ”
― Michael Pollan

 

2 thoughts on “My time.

Leave a Reply

