Coffee and leaves

I’m in ecstasy. It doesn’t take much.  I was hoping to find a shop that would let me have their spent coffee grounds and after a few false starts made the trip across town to Starbucks.  The folks at the Starbucks along I-77 in Statesville have been great.  Over the last 3 weeks I’ve taken home 30 gallons of coffee grounds.

20160201_coffee

Free coffee grounds from Starbucks. January 2016

I’m like a kid in a candy store as my mind thinks of all the ways in which I can use them.   To get started I took the wheelbarrow and mixed ground leaves with coffee grounds at a ratio of about 10 to 1.  This mixture was used to lightly top dress the vegetable beds, raspberry patch, and the fruit trees.

20160131_coffee-and-leaves

Top dressing of ground leaves and coffee grounds. January 2016

 

A wonderful slow release source of nitrogen free for the asking.  Yep I’m a happy camper. Now I need to get some to add to the compost pile, oh worms love coffee grounds and … 

“Nowadays people know the price of everything and the value of nothing.”
— Oscar Wilde (The Picture of Dorian Gray)

“It is impossible to have a healthy and sound society
without a proper respect for the soil.”
― Peter Maurin

 

4 thoughts on “Coffee and leaves

  1. My parents had a compost pile in the 70’s and they threw the grounds from our coffee percolator into the pile! 🙂 We liked the clean worms for fishing and Mom used most of the compost for her flower and vegetable gardens. ♡

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

