Encouraging Diversity

 

IMG_1299

Mail order plants waiting for me to get home.

When you get a text message saying “Look what came in the mail” and this is what you see how can you not smile.  Despite the horrors played out on the news each evening life goes on.   As I grow older I realize more and more that I need to focus on things that I can control… to live what I believe.  When I’m able to find a home for a new plant in the garden and I see it thrive I can’t help but feel encouraged.  These plants will not only add beauty but will provide food for the table.

 

IMG_1281

A young Blueberry

Six young blueberry plants were added to the garden.   The wire is to protect them from the rabbits.  There are other plants they can eat.  In a few years, after they’ve had a chance to establish themselves and get a thicker tougher stem, I’ll be able to remove the wire.  But for now, like a watchful parent, I’ll see that they have the extra protection that they need.

gojiberry_20151117

One of two Goji Berries

We grow a wide variety of plants and the diversity of species present on these two urban lots continues to grow.  I’ve never grown or even seen goji berries but now we have two.  I look forward to seeing them mature, flower and set fruit.  We strive to have plants that bloom at different times of the year; this is not only for our pleasure but to attract and feed a wide variety of pollinators.  Experience has shown me that by welcoming diversity we can create a healthier environment for all.

“It is time for parents to teach young people early on that in diversity there is beauty and there is strength.”
                                          Maya Angelou

“Encouragement is like water to the soul, it makes everything grow.”
     Chris Burkmenn

One thought on “Encouraging Diversity

Leave a Reply

